And so it begins.

When our youngest became a vegetarian a few years ago, my Mom gave us her copy of The Ultimate Vegetarian Cookbook. I guessed now was as good a time to open it as any. (Sorry, Mom. I always meant to. Better late than never, right?) Our Little Dude is no longer a vegetarian, but I’m afraid to cook meat. If it’s over cooked it’s dry and terrible, if it’s undercooked someone can end up in the hospital. And meats aren’t cheap either. Who needs that kind of pressure? Not me. Not yet anyway. So vegetarian it is.

I page through all of the recipes in the dinner section and settle on Shepherdess Pie. It takes me about two hours to make this decision after pouring over 54 pages of choices in the Main Course section. It was finally decided on due to the Mashers Factor. Mashed potatoes are one of my favorite foods in the whole world and I’ve seen them made for me several times so I think I can repeat the process. And if the whole thing stinks, at least it’s a dish topped with mashers.

I read the ingredients list.

Potatoes, olive oil, salt, pepper, onion, carrots, garlic cloves, sunflower oil, mushrooms, aduki beans, stock, vegetable yeast extract, bay leaves, dried mixed herbs and dried bread crumbs.

I have no idea what aduki beans are, no idea what kind of “stock” I’m supposed to use….oh wait, its vegetarian. Nevermind. I end up figuring that part out. “Dried mixed herbs” sounds a little like this author thinks I’ve cooked before and worries me a little. I mean, I’ve at least seen the spice aisle. I know there is an awful lot to choose from.

I make the grocery list and head out.

I find myself in the market thankful for my first smart phone. I’m comparing cups and ounces in the recipe to the measurements on the packages at the market. How many cups are in an ounce? Thank you, Google. Thank you, smart phone. And to those of you in the market, no I wasn’t texting while driving (my cart). I’ve heard about Oprah’s No Phone Zone pledge. I know the dangers. I pulled over so I could try to accomplish something important as I made it difficult for you to all navigate around me, my cart and my phone. I really did wait until I got home to read texts about handbags.

I also find that while I don’t know what aduki beans are, someone else sure does, because they’re at the grocery store. Cans and cans of them all neatly stacked. Never noticed those things before. As far as the dried mixed herbs, we’ve got a million spice containers at the house. I just get the bay leaves and figure I’ll smell the things in the cabinet later and do a little mixing and matching. I can’t cook, but I do know what smells good.

Back home with all of my ingredients, I’m a little frustrated that I spent so much money at the grocery store. Since I don’t do the shopping, this has got to be the most money I’ve spent at the store in ages (what was left of my allowance for the week). And this is just one dinner! How does my husband do this? I’m gaining a new appreciation for that man.

I stare at the ingredients for a while and I read the recipe over and over. I’m psyching myself up. I can do this! No, I can’t. Yes, yes you can. Ok, whatever. We’ve got about a thousand dollars invested in this recipe so far, so I have to try.

Chopping potatoes. Ok, I can do that. Boil potatoes. Ok, I know how to boil. Poke. Poke. Poke. Ok, I’ve got boiled potatoes. Now what? Peel the potatoes and mash them. That sounds like its going to be hard and we don’t peel potatoes at home for mashing so I don’t do the peeling part. But what I do instead is have Samwise Gamgee in my head. “Mash ‘em, boil ‘em, stick ‘em in a stew.” That Samwise. I’d love to eat potatoes with that hobbit. Is this a sign of ADHD? I don’t know. Hey, I should really watch Lord of the Rings again some time soon.

“Gently fry” the vegetables. I don’t see a setting on the burner that says “gently”. I do my best to stay the course.

“Stir in the mushrooms, beans, cook for 2 more minutes and then add the stock, yeast and bay leaves.” Crap. I forgot to find out what vegetable yeast was. Oh well. Let’s keep moving.

So the veggies are cooked and now all it seems I’m supposed to do is put them in the pan, spread my mashers over the beany veggie mixture, sprinkle on the bread crumbs, put the thing in the oven and the go watch Ellen.

You know what? All this recipe reading, shopping, chopping, stiring, gently frying, dolloping and sprinkling business took up my entire day. At least it felt that way. But by the time I retrieve my maiden dish from the oven I’m only slightly angry with it. It sucked up any time I would have spent on work or Facebook, and I only got to watch Ellen’s monologue. It said “broil” and apparently, that was the quickest step in this whole deal. Sorry, Ellen. We’ll catch up with each other next week when I choose a recipe that doesn’t involve broiling.

But I can be satisfied. It smells edible, Ellen’s probably not upset with me considering, and I can feel proud I made my family what is probably a very healthy dish. All for about $85 per serving.

Dinner is served. And you know what? It sucked. It was soupy and bland and ick. But it was an investment in our future as a family. My first step in cooking. And you should know. I’m only able to be this optimistic about this horrible food because this didn’t happen last night. Shepherdess Pie and I have some distance from one another now. We’ve had time to reflect on our relationship. We ultimately decided to part our separate ways. She has goats to herd and I only want one named William in my back yard to trim the grass.

Do you know that stupid dish sat in the fridge for more than a week? No one wanted to eat it but everyone was too afraid to throw it out. It was like a combination of “Mom’s first effort and I can’t insult it” and “Hey, I think my college tuition is in that casserole dish”.

Lesson learned: Mashed potatoes are not the duct tape of foods. But I still love them and my favorite hobbit.

About ramentorecipes

I used to be a terrible cook. I originally started this blog on my journey to learn. Now that I've learned more about food, I've decided to start recording my journey again. This time the adventures are meatless!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to And so it begins.

  1. Vicki says:

    Yay for a new recipe! And eggs are the duct tape of foods. 😉 When you’re ready to venture into meat, Jeremy has you covered. We’ll get you a meat thermometer, and he’ll show ya how to cook $85 worth of chicken without burning a single breast, or thigh, or finger (or even giving anyone Campylobacter Enteritis). Go, girl, go!

  2. C Dub says:

    Okay, okay, I begrudgingly give you my ‘first right of refusal’ to the Moosewood cookbooks from Mike……
    Anything and everything in there is veggie and good. Generally not that weird to cook. Do you want to borrow one?
    Hang in there, keep trying. It’s going to mesh soon. Kinda like learning to drive a stick shift…all of a sudden, you got it.

    xoxo

    • LOL. Wait til you read the next post. I love you.

      And I like the stick shift comparison. Did I ever tell you it took forever for me to learn how to drive a stick? I got so frustrated I tried to return the car twice. The Sales Manager got so sick of me whining about it, he taught me how to drive it. That gives me hope. I think. Ha!

Leave a Reply

